Quick and easy recipe: Lamb’s lettuce, duck and red beets salad

Crazy week, crazy time! With me leaving my current job, I have little time for cooking, except for a cake for my farewell lunch (the best) where everybody stepped in! So awesome! And my colleagues offered me a great present! A cooking class with L’atelier des Chefs (it’s in french, sorry). I’ll tell you all about it as soon as I take the class! Can’t wait!

For now, I have to figure out quick and easy meals. Salad is perfect, especially if you give it a little twist. Instead of chicken, I used duck, which I love and will go very well with the sweetness of the red beet. So without further due, here is the recipe for a delicious yet simple salad!

Recipe: Lamb’s lettuce, duck and red beets salad

Ingredients for 2 persons

  • 200 g lamb’s lettuce
  • 200 g cooked red beets
  • 12 cherry tomatoes
  • 150 g duck strips
  • one knob of butter
  • salt, pepper

For the dressing

  • 4 spoons (TSP) balsamic vinegar
  • 2 spoon honey
  • 1 spoon oil
  • 1 spoon balsamic cream
  1. In a pan, melt the knob of butter and cook the duck strips (about two minutes on each side for a juicy center). Add the salt and pepper during the cooking.
  2. In a bowl, mix the balsamic vinegar, the oil and the honey. Mix until the honey is melted.
  3. Dress your plate: first, place the lamb’s lettuce, then the red beets on top and the cherry tomatoes cut in half. Add the duck strips and pour spoons of dressing on top of the salad and meat. Add the balsamic cream to your convenience (it is delicious with the meat).

Tip n°1: you can cook the duck in balsamic vinegar and honey. It adds extra flavor (I just like my duck plain).

Tip n°2: You can of course replace the lamb’s lettuce with another kind of lettuce but this kind has just the right flavor with the duck.

4 thoughts on “Quick and easy recipe: Lamb’s lettuce, duck and red beets salad

Leave a Reply

